Tags

, , , ,

I love my country. I love knowing for what She has stood over the last 234 years. She has been a bastion of liberty and hope for mankind in the political sphere. Her beacon of freedom has shone throughout the world as a reminder of the promise of Man.

With all of her beauty, She still has a few blemishes and retains some scars from her past. Perhaps predominant among Her foibles is the nature of Her origin.

My Nation came to be through the commitment of men to the ideas of life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness, but in order to be birthed, Her leaders had to rebel against their own leaders.

The Land of Liberty was born through rebellion. While I agree with the need to create this country and to stand up against tyranny and “taxation without representation”, the fact of the matter is that defiance to authority was the midwife in this nation’s first moments.

I grieve for my Nation because I do not believe she has left behind the nature of Her birth. Rebellion, defiance and lack of respect for authority pervade our nation, perhaps now more than ever.

Truly, rebellion is part of Man’s nature. One of the first words most children learn is “no”. That first time my own children openly defy me is one of the hardest ones in my life. Obedience is not easy. It is not what most people want to do.

This Nation has difficulty accepting the concept of obedience. It pervades our society. For the past forty to fifty years, our leaders in the culture have celebrated new ways to defy any authority. From burnt bras to crosses dipped in urine, cultural heads have proclaimed all things as fair game for defiance and rebellion.

The idea of freedom of speech has superseded any commitment to righteous living. Things considered sacred are intentionally targeted for ridicule and hate – because these purveyors of “personal liberty” prefer to proliferate a passion for pluralism, rather than perfection and purity. The most insane thing to me is that those who would demand their freedom to say whatever they wish at the same time mandate that anyone who believes that Truth is not multifaceted or multi-headed must be silenced, shunned and stilled until they come to the righteous conclusions of a correct understanding of cultural diversity.

To read in full, please go to http://fatherstales.com/?p=328

