Tags

, , ,

“When we traded homemaking for careers, we were implicitly promised economic independence and worldly influence. But a devil of a bargain it has turned out to be in terms of daily life. We gave up the aroma of warm bread rising, the measured pace of nurturing routines, the creative task of molding our families’ tastes …and zest for life; we received in exchange the minivan and the Lunchable.” ~ Barbara Kingsolver

““I finally came to the point of deciding that my heart’s desire was that at age sixty I will want to have given my life to my children. To know that I gave all I had. To have no regrets. To do the best that I could. I made a choice to invest myself in my home. Not to give lip service to it, but to dig in and really make a difference. Not to just mark off time, but to do it well, to give of myself. I am being called to be a missionary. Not to Africa, but ‘to my own people.’ To my little ones. To my family.” ~ Kym Wright

