Tags

,

“Why do women want to dress like men when their fortunate enough to be women?  Why lose our feminity, which is one of our greatest charms?  We get much more accomplished by being charming then we would by flaunting around in pants and smoking.  I’m very fond of men.  I think they’re wonderful creatures.  I love them dearly.  But I don’t want to look like one!  When women gave up their long skirts, they made a grave error.  Things half seen are so much more mysterious and delightful.  Remember the term “a neatly turned ankle”?  Think of the thrill that gentlemen used to get if they caught even a glimplse of one.  Now women go around in their union suits.  And what a multitude of sins you could cover up with a long skirt if you had piano legs!!”

“I enjoy doing housework, ironing, washing, cooking, dishwashing. Whenever I get one of those questionaires and they ask what is your profession, I always put down housewife. It’s an admirable profession, why apologize for it. You aren’t stupid because you’re a housewife. When you’re stirring the jam you can read Shakespeare.”

“Life isn’t long enough to do all you could accomplish. And what a privilege even to be alive. In spite of all the pollutions and horrors, how beautiful this world is. Supposing you only saw the stars once every year. Think what you would think. The wonder of it!”

 

