Tags

, ,

Immodesty cannot long exist where love for Christ reigns. As love for Him and for godliness grows, the desire to reveal one’s body will decrease. If you are at the point where you desire to dress more modestly but you aren’t quite sure what to do, try this:

Stand in front of a mirror and try on each outfit that you have a question about. Then, looking at yourself from all angles, ask yourself these questions:

–Does my blouse or the top of my dress “fall away” when I bend over?  Can I see down the front of it? Does it show cleavage? It is generally safe to follow the four-finger “rule”: place your fingers just below, but where you can touch, your collar-bone; your top should not be cut lower than that.

–Is my dress  see-through? Can I see my body through my it? If so, it is immodest. If in doubt, stand in a light and ask another female (or your husband) for an opinion.

–Does my dress or skirt fall below my knees so that I am properly covered? If there is a slit, is my privacy still protected or does it allow my thighs or my slip to be seen? Can I walk, bend over or sit down without my privacy being compromised? Does the fabric cling to me? Is it tight? Dresses and skirts ought to cover not reveal.

–Is my blouse or dress loose around the armhole? Does it allow others to see what shouldn’t be seen? Are my shoulders covered?

–Does my blouse or dress “cup” my form? Is there writing or a picture across the bust (that will then draw the eye where it ought not to be drawn)? The feminine form shouldn’t be unduly emphasized.

–Does my bra, slip or undies show? Can the imprint of them be seen?  Does my clothing mimic underwear in any way at all? If so, change.

–If I wear pants or shorts, are they form-fitting? Do my undies show at the top when I bend over? Can the imprint of my undies be seen? If I wear shorts, do they cover to the knees or below the knees? The feminine form is very easily revealed through the wearing of pants or shorts; if you choose to wear them, be very careful in your selection.

God will either be honored or dishonored by the way you dress. You will either give credence to your testimony or bring doubt upon His holiness by your choice of clothing. Be very careful to make clothing selections that will honor God. Dress in a fashion that is feminine and that draws attention to your face and not to your body.

In short, the rules of dressing in a modest, non-revealing fashion are these:

  • nothing too tight
  • nothing too sheer
  • nothing too short
  • nothing too low

May God bless you on your journey to honor Him with what you wear.

 

 

